ADVERTISEMENT

Brands Win Championships: The Secret to Winning a National Championship in the 21st Century

JeremyDarlow

BeaversEdge Two-Star Recruit
May 24, 2002
Hi all, my name is Jeremy Darlow. I’m a graduate of our Oregon State University (class of ’03) and also a recently published author of a book called ‘Brands Win Championships’ - which I think could be of interest to a few of you on this board, especially under the current circumstances. The book acts as a guide to building successful NCAA athletic brands through the power of marketing. In the book I challenge that the most successful brands of the next ten years will be those with the strongest brands, not necessarily those with the most well known coach or stingiest defense from year to year. I’ve been a member of the board since 2012, I rarely post, but I’ve always been fascinated by the passion of our fans (and every fan base).

I’ve been in brand marketing for the entirety of my career, the last seven of those years working to build the brands of some of the top NCAA athletic programs in the country. I wrote the book entirely as a passion play, it wasn’t and never will be about the money (there is none, btw). I love marketing, I love sports, I love OSU. Those three things got me here. Those three things inspired this post.